Call Now

Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University

Updated on: Apr 25, 2013

Garhwal University, established in the year 1973 renamed as Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University in the year 1989. The university received its new name after Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna, a noted statesman from the region who headed the “Chipko Movement” to save the forest and subsequently established as Central University under the provision of the Central Universities Ordinance, 2009, No.3 of 2009 published in the gazette of India, extraordinary Part-II, Sec-I, New Delhi, 15 January 2009.

With more than 180 affiliated colleges and institutes (both state run/aided and self financed), it is among the ten largest Universities of the country with 3 campuses and and examining approximately 150000 students annually, providing higher education services in 7 out of the 13 Districts of the State of Uttarakhand.

HNBGU is blessed with state of art research facilities, and offers a variety of higher learning courses and academic programmes.

For further information related to Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University click on the links provided below:

Courses Offered
Exam Results
Contact Details

Subscribe to our newsletter